The Victims of Pan Am Flight 103 VPAF103 organization was formed following the December 21, 1988 terrorist bombing of Flight 103 to accomplish four objectives:

  • Seek the Truth about who, why and how the terrorist action that took the lives of 259 persons on Pan American Flight 103 and the eleven persons on the ground in Lockerbie;
  • Provide Emotional Support for the families of the VPAF103 victims and by reaching out to families of other aircraft disasters;
  • Improve Aviation Safety and Security by alerting the public to the danger. Working diligently within the aviation system to improve airline and airport safety and security. By continuing to seek the deployment of explosive detection equipment ; and
  • Combat Terrorism by using pressure to encourage action by the government to deter and prevent the use of terrorism against civil aviation.

In 2007, VPAF103 created two awards to recognize individuals who have helped the families and the organization realize those goals.


The Keeping the Spirit Alive Award was developed to recognize the person or persons, who over a long period of time, have succeeded in keeping the government and public aware of the important lessons learned from this terrorist action. We honor those working with the Victims of Pan Am Flight 103 VPAF103 organization to achieve these goals all the while remembering those lost in the Lockerbie bombing and “keeping their spirit alive”. Keeping the Spirit Alive Awardees, and the date of their award, are:

  • Judith L. O’Rourke - Oct. 27, 2007
  • Francis J. Duggan - Dec. 21, 2007
  • Edward L. Galvin - Oct. 24, 2008
  • Suse Lowenstein - Oct. 24, 2008
  • Senator Frank R. Lautenberg - Nov. 20, 2008
  • Glenn P. Johnson, Jr. - Dec. 20, 2008
  • Kara Monetti Weipz - Dec. 20, 2008
  • Jane Davis - Nov. 14, 2009
  • Robert Monetti - Nov. 14, 2009
  • Kathryn M. Turman - Dec. 21, 2009


The Certificate of Appreciation VPAF103 was created to recognize the efforts of those who have given of their time and talent to help the organization in its goals. Those recognized have performed in an outstanding manner in helping the families of the Victims of Pan Am Flight 103. Certificate of Appreciation Awardees, and the date of their award, are:

  • Joseph McBride - Oct. 27, 2007
  • Dr. Eileen Leary Kelly - Oct. 27, 2007
  • Richard Marquise - Oct. 25, 2008
  • John C. Metzler, Jr. - Dec. 21, 2009